Hogs Football

Morgan named to watch list for top wide receiver award

Arkansas senior wide receiver Drew Morgan was named to the preseason watch list for the 2016 Biletnikoff Award.


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Arkansas senior wide receiver Drew Morgan was named to the preseason watch list for the 2016 Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Wednesday.

The Biletnikoff Award is given annually to the most outstanding receiver in college football.

The Greenwood native is one of only seven players from the SEC to make the prestigious list.

Morgan was a late addition to the watch list last season after leading the SEC in touchdown receptions heading into November. Now he goes into the 2016 season as one of Arkansas’ primary receivers and looks to build on his team leading 63 catches and 10 touchdowns from a year ago.

After opening 2015 as the No. 3 or No. 4 wide receiver, Morgan went on to not only lead the team in receptions and touchdown catches, but also yards (843).

Ranking in the top 10 in the conference in receptions (T-6th), yards (9th) and TDs (2nd), Morgan also ranked 17th nationally in touchdown receptions and his 10 scores were the third-most in program single-season history.

Away from home field, Morgan was even better becoming the first player in program history with back-to-back 100 yard receiving games in SEC play away from home after going for 155 yards against No. 14 Texas A&M in Arlington and 100 yards at Tennessee.

His year-long performance earned him All-SEC second team status by the Associated Press, Athlon and Phil Steele. This preseason, Morgan has been named to Athlon’s All-SEC third team.

Most Popular

The online source for Arkansas Razorbacks sports and much, much more. Hog Country has, well, the Hogs, of course, but there are also some of the top high school sports programs in the state and we cover them in all sports, too!

Plus, we also cover the outdoors, including hunting and fishing across Northwest Arkansas with it's spacious woods and expansive lakes.


© Copyright 2008-2017 by Andy Hodges. All rights reserved.

To Top